Michaels Arts and Crafts Company Review By Employees

Michaels Arts and Crafts
Mayfield, OH
www.michaels.com

Company Grade: F (34%)

Rate This Employer

Crafts store

The Michaels Arts and Crafts has an Overall Look Before You Leap grade of: F (34%) by 26 of it’s current and/or past employees. The current and/or previous employee(s) rated Michaels Arts and Crafts on it’s business ethics, management, culture, pay, benefits, and training.


26 Total Employee Reviews of Michaels Arts and Crafts

Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: April 25, 2018
Years of Employment: 2004 - 2017
Overall Grade: F (36%)
Comments: They are clearing out long term managers for unqualified lower pay people. If you want to work 65 hours a week with no thanks and constant pressure this job is for you!
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: April 14, 2018
Years of Employment: 2017 - Present
Overall Grade: D (42%)
Comments: Management is poor.
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: January 25, 2018
Years of Employment: 2017 - Present
Overall Grade: C- (59%)
Comments: Bearable, but barely
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: May 27, 2017
Years of Employment: 2017 - Present
Overall Grade: F (36%)
Comments: Corporate obviously has forgotten, or has never worked floor level retail. We are literally treated like "grunts" in the military. Nobody likes or wants to work here, I wouldn't dare try to talk to management about anything! WE have to have our purses etc. checked in front of cameras before leaving!!! HUH?
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: May 11, 2016
Years of Employment: 2015 - 2016
Overall Grade: F (30%)
Comments: Don't work here! Managers are careless about there employees aand training is a joke. The managers favorite employees get away with everything. Seasonal employees are the only people that were helpful.
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: February 15, 2016
Years of Employment: 2015 - Present
Overall Grade: D (40%)
Comments: Terrible place to work. I rarely even shopped at Michaels unless I was in a hurry to buy canvases (everything is so overpriced). I was hired on as a class instructor, thinking it would be appropriate considering I'm an artist... I immediately regretted it. I felt like a sell out, trying to pitch to customers interested in taking my classes to buy $45 kit AND pay $25 for the class. I couldn't even teach and by teach, I mean, I couldn't help students learn how to use their (expensive/low quality) supplies- I had to basically have them copy what I drew/painted. That is no way to learn art skills, I just wanted to give them their moneys worth, but I couldn't. Everything was so unorganized, and the employees were always chilling in the backroom, laughing, not doing their jobs. I was disrupted while teaching a class 3 times because in one day once because there were no employees around to help them out. A big problem for me was I was told I'd recieve my paycheck in the mail. I'm yet to see that paycheck. Before the paycheck after that, I applied for my paycheck to be delivered via direct deposit. Still yet to see any money deposited in my account...Then bag checks! My god, the bag checks. "We have to do bag checks, we're a shrink store", I don't remember signing anything that gave my permission to do so, but I figured I'd shut up about it considering I was EXTREMELY PART TIME (I worked at most 2 days a month, 2 hours each). My mom found out about the bag checks and being that the company she works for is also a shrink store, she was pissed that they were practically strip searching me in front of the store for everyone to see because her company doesn't practice that. All in all, I'm very disappointed about wasting my time on working for this company. It's all about money, money, money to them. Don't waste your time here. I'm begging you
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: December 18, 2014
Years of Employment: 2013 - Present
Overall Grade: F (32%)
Comments: TERRIBLE company to work for as they are strictly out to make money for the company and do NOT care about their employees AT ALL!!
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: November 17, 2014
Years of Employment: 2013 - Present
Overall Grade: F (34%)
Comments: DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY! It really has been the biggest disappointment.I love what I do and I'm good at it, but I refuse to allow anyone to treat me so poorly.
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: January 15, 2014
Years of Employment: 2012 - Present
Overall Grade: F (26%)
Comments: I definitely would not recommend working here.
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: January 01, 2014
Years of Employment: 2007 - Present
Overall Grade: F (20%)
Comments: This company is literally a joke. I have wasted the last 6 years of my life working for this place. Our store manager's new amusement is changing the schedule midweek, taking days off of people, and not telling them! How lovely. I have discouraged anyone I know who wanted to work here from applying and saving themselves a miserable time. The management will never change because the problem is corporate. Get these potato sacks out of the corporate office and maybe this company won't crumble to the ground.
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: November 19, 2013
Years of Employment: 2000 - 2013
Overall Grade: F (38%)
Comments: Greedy Executive..... Very dishonest.....
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: September 27, 2013
Years of Employment: 2012 - Present
Overall Grade: D (44%)
Comments: Micro managed and poorly compensated. I was actually recommended for management, then suddenly without any discussion or warning my hours got cut and a different person was hired for the management job. ZERO communication leaves you wondering what you did wrong. Suddenly cut to almost no hours at all, I've reached my limit.
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: March 19, 2013
Years of Employment: 2005 - 2013
Overall Grade: D (40%)
Comments: I put in 8 yrs in total to this company I worked so hard. I was let go for a minor infraction, and I mean minor. And the only way you can move up in this company is if you are a uncaring jerk
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: December 06, 2012
Years of Employment: 2012 - Present
Overall Grade: F (26%)
Comments: Someone really needs to check this company out!!
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: July 06, 2012
Years of Employment: 2009 - Present
Overall Grade: F (31%)
Comments: Don't work here if you want a long term job. Fine for temp stuff, they hire all the time.
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: June 18, 2012
Years of Employment: 2007 - 2011
Overall Grade: F (34%)
Comments: This is absolutely the worst company I have ever worked for. Management does not want to hear about any problems. They perfer for you to lie and act like everything is good. They grossly unpay their associates. They promise training programs which are never put into action. Store Managers are allowed to treat their employees poorly and if you make use of their "open door policy" all that will happen is you work life will become a living hell. I did a great job for that company, despite the poor management. But when you start asking to be paid fairly, they find a way to legally get rid of you.
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: January 10, 2012
Years of Employment: 2011 - 2011
Overall Grade: F (30%)
Comments: THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT ANYTHING BUT MONEY BE WARNED
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: November 29, 2011
Years of Employment: 2011 - Present
Overall Grade: F (30%)
Comments: I hope I help u a little in chosing your new employer.
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: November 10, 2011
Years of Employment: 2005 - 2011
Overall Grade: F (24%)
Comments: Do Not Work For This Company!!!! they dont care about you and dont waste your time trying to figure them out. just skip it and move on with your life
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: October 07, 2011
Years of Employment: 2011 - 2011
Overall Grade: F (31%)
Comments: The worst managers I've ever met!
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Years of Employment: 2005 - 2010
Overall Grade: F (20%)
Comments: This store is a joke. They pride themselves on quality products, which by the way are all made in China. The custom framing quality isn't what you think. Do not trust them with your artwork, because they ruin it. I ran 2 framing dept. in 2 different stores, and believe me, when you are up against the corporate clock, things become half assed! You are noy getting what you paid for. Michael's has a 90% mark up too on framing.
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Current Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: May 04, 2011
Years of Employment: 2007 - Present
Overall Grade: F (30%)
Comments: This has become the absolute WORST company I have ever worked for, I am appalled and disappointed in the management. Do NOT seek employment here.
  View This Current Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Years of Employment: 2000 - 2009
Overall Grade: F (39%)
Comments: michaels is NOT "where creativity happens" as long as management and corporate have anything to say about it!
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: October 19, 2009
Years of Employment: 2007 - 2009
Overall Grade: F (27%)
Comments: I would caution any potential applicant for wanting to work for this Company. They were the worst Company I ever worked for, especially my District Manager!
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: January 17, 2009
Years of Employment: 2007 - 2008
Overall Grade: F (30%)
Comments: Do not think about working at michaels you will not like it in the long run
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts
Past Employee's Review
Date Reviewed: April 27, 2005
Years of Employment: 1996 - 2005
Overall Grade: D (41%)
Comments: Good for a short term part time job,don't expect a team enviornment, job recogniton, or adaquate compensation
  View This Past Employee's Complete Review of Michaels Arts and Crafts

LookBeforeYouLeap.net, LLC.

P.O. Box 20071
Louisville, KY 40250
1-888-361-3682

About Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Terms of Service  |   Contact Us

Copyright © 2003–2018 LookBeforeYouLeap.net, LLC. All rights reserved.